Tuesday, October 28, 2008

This has nothing to do with pizza.

Curtis says:
Heeey
Amanda says:
hi
Curtis says:
so did youi hear? people think the world is gonna end in 2012
Amanda says:
hahahah what?
Curtis says:
lol yeah
Our galaxy is 'powered' by a super-massive black hole, and in 2012 we're going to pass through the outer most edge of this black hole.
It's gonna be like... either 2 weeks or 2 years i forget of null space, no sunlight, no moonlight, nothing just total darkness
then 2000 or so years od constant day
of*
Amanda says:
so who came up with this, was it tom cruise?
Curtis says:
No
I think it was the Mayans
and scientists proved it or something
Amanda says:
fucking Mayans
who are these scientists?
Curtis says:
Some people say its gonna be a cataclysm that extincts all of mankind, others say its the end of days as prophesised by Jesus in the book of Revelations, others don't know what will happen.
but its safe to say things will change
Amanda says:
.......
who are these scientists?
Curtis says:
This is all based on this actually happening i mean 2013 could come around and we're no closer to the galactic core
Ummm i unno.
I just heard this, i dunno if i buy it or not
Amanda says:
im not intelligent enough to form an opinion
so i'll just say that sounds like doggie doodoo.
Curtis says:
lol sure you are
You just don't have knowledge about celestial events Neither do I, but crossing the ridge of a black hoel cant be good XD
Amanda says:
it could be
maybe it's like a really orgasmic experience in the world
we all end in just one giant orgy
kind of like the Matrix, but with less leather
Curtis says:
LOL
maybe hehe
but if its gonna happen, well APARENTLY know about it better on December 21'st
Amanda says:
like, this December 21st?
Curtis says:
yes
cause thats when people say the end of the world starts from the bible (even though jesus himself says he has noooooo idea when the worlds going to end )
Amanda says:
oh right
i forgot that that was this year
Curtis says:
haha
We'll see though.
Amanda says:
shouldn't i be like, scared or something?
Curtis says:
If it's all true, very.
Amanda says:
awesome
Curtis says:
If not, carry on
Amanda says:
fuck, i should probably like.. go do important things and shit before hand
Curtis says:
If crazy shit starts going down on December 21st, invest in a bible lol
Amanda says:
what kind of crazy shit am i supposed to be looking out for? like biblical crazy shit like, locusts? or like.. just simple crazy shit like.. flying babies and clowns?
Curtis says:
hahah oh amanda
XD flying babies
Amanda says:
what about unicorns?
Curtis says:
i unno i think its mostly crazy shit as in the whole world going dark
or massive flooding
Amanda says:
so no flying babies.. ?
Curtis says:
ya
Amanda says:
awe.
Curtis says:
THEN AGAIN
In the bible, god promised humanity to never again destroy the planet with a giant flood.
Amanda says:
so not a flood then
Curtis says:
Which is what would happen if Earth's gravitational axis switched.
This is all based on Mayans
Amanda says:
So.. no axis switching
Curtis says:
Fucking Mayans, getting is all paranoid.
Amanda says:
fucking mayans
Curtis says:
another creepy coeicidence
2 more actually
Amanda says:
fuck, what now?
Curtis says:
the World Health Organisation says AIDS deaths will peak in 2012 XD
Cause the world will be ending and everyone will get their freak on?
also
The summer olympics are happening in 2012
Amanda says:
so people really WILL skate into aids trees!
but like, roller skate?
because it's summer
or maybe the flood will be of live people's bloods
Curtis says:
lol ew
and AIDS
Amanda says:
killing everyone in three ways:
blood loss
drowning
AIDS
that is probably the best list for anything
Hakim's Medical Clinic - Come seek help with us for any of the following:
blood loss
drowning
AIDS
Curtis says:
lol
Amanda says:
John Kelly's Law Firm - Helping Your Family Financially Cope With The Following:
blood loss
drowning
AIDS
Curtis says:
Come to Daytona Beach for spring break! there will be
blood loss
drowning
AIDS
Amanda says:
Papa Joe's Ice Cream Parlor, Now serving:
blood loss
drowning
AIDS




Don't talk to me after 3 AM. This will likely happen.

Monday, October 27, 2008

The post after this one should talk about running over fresh pizzas for recreation.

These are all texts that are saved in the Drafts section in my cell phone.
Some of them are quotes from movies. Some of them are quotes from people I know. Some of them are other things.
All of them make me smile.


"I will have your valve then!"
"So when there is going to a be a movie made of your life there is going to be a substance abuse montage and in it will be a scene of you doing a steering wheel dance with your hands to Blue Monday."
"Fanny, be tender with my love."
"Sounds like A gay."
"This guy looks and sounds exactly like Topher Grace and it's tripping me out."
"Have you ever eaten a block of cheese and wished that it was spicy?"
"Watchmen? Does it have watches?" (This was way funnier at the time.)
"I wish he wasn't a daddy."
"You are so beautiful. Never stop moving."
"What about your pension plan?"
"Okay you guys, listen. Slow rap is the best music to have sex to."
"You gay weeble. There hasn't been a more feminine jew in the closet since Anne Frank."
"I've done something rather unfortunate to my coccyx."
"It's like we are married. Cunt cunt cunt."
"Beef gravy is the best gravy."
"I wish Stacey and Clinton from 'What Not To Wear' would just walk in right now."
"Elliot Smith is being converted."
"I'm plugging kool-aid!"
"I'M Tank Girl!"
"Micky Mouse get in your hole."
"What are you doing? Talking to your blue hat?"


I seemed to accidently delete everything else that was so good. Here's some pick-chures.

Saturday, October 25, 2008

You're not the kind that needs to tell me about the birds and the bees.

I can actually get the feeling that I need to cry from listening to certain songs again.
Don't lose hope in me yet, I might be getting back to being a human being.

Hi, I'll be back soon with more bloggzors.

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Definition of Badass

dαriαn the nun.. essay writing. don't speak, liar. says:
do you want me to go kick his cunt? because right now, i don't think he has any balls.



I just needed to share this with the world. That is all.

Monday, October 20, 2008

Fanny (Be Tender With My Love)


"The" concert was last night.
First, I will talk about Death Cab -
When the hell did this band lose so much weight? Chris has always been pretty skinny, but now all of a sudden he looks like an extra from Trainspotting. I wasn't aware that it was possible for a man cheekbones to resemble Twiggy's cheekbones more than David Bowie. I mean, it's fine, he still looks good, but it was just weird. I wish I got a picture of those cheekbones. Ben lost a lot of weight too. Did they all become vegan again? Who the hell cares. He has mutton chops. Seeing Death Cab made me more sure of many things, but one of them was my notion that the newest way to be an indie rock star is to dress like a 70s porn star. Nick Harmer doesn't have weird devil curls at his hair line anymore, so that's cool I guess. Jason looks exactly like I expected him to. Good job Jason for keeping it consistent. Is it weird that I actually kind of find this band hot now? I guess I have a thing for heroin addicts and porn stars.
Now, for the music... They opened with "Marching Bands of Manhattan" like I figured. They played "We Laugh Indoors" which made me pretty happy, but didn't surprise me. They played "Marching Bands..," "I Will Follow You Into The Dark," "Soul Meets Body," and "Crooked Teeth" off of Plans, "The New Year," "Tiny Vessels," and "Transatlantacism," off of Transatlantacism, and the rest was off of Narrow Stairs. They played exactly what I thought they would. They didn't play "Sound of Settling," though, which kind of surprised me. They also didn't play "We Looked Like Giants," which didn't surprise me, but it was dissapointing. I don't think I forgot anything else. The set list was fine. That part wasn't dissapointing, because it was expected. But here's the thing - they started playing "Tiny Vessels," which is one of my favourite songs, and I realised that I was getting absoloutely nothing out of this performance. The only thing I noticed different from the entire set from the recorded versions of all the songs was a key change in the instrumental in Transatlantacism. Now, I know nothing about music, so it's quite possible that I'm full of shit, but regardless... I saw a band I've
been waiting to see for 5 years and it didn't really do anything for me. The only thing that I really "gained" from the whole performance was the change of hearing Matt and Sacha butcher "I Will Follow You Into The Dark" over Ben's vocals while they were standing behind me. I'm sure they would have done that for me while I listened to a CD and not charge me 80 dollars. Okay, now I sound angry.. I'm not really, just dissapointed I guess. I love live music because of the raw quality to it; there was nothing raw about this performance. I mean, of course, I'm super glad I saw them, and it was still a good set, but I don't know... I feel like I should be wowed. I need to see them headline a show, and not in a stadium. Then I'll make a final decision on DCFC live.
Neil Young was awesome. I can't really say anything else about Neil Young. I'm curious to know which crowd smoked more weed though - Neil Young or Foo Fighters, because man, People started lighting joints as soon as Ben Gibbard walked off stage. I also held up a lighter into the sky like a tool for the first time, too. I sat through "Old Man" without doing it successfully, but as soon as he covered "A Day in the Life," I just had to.
I didn't really try to take good pictures at the show because I didn't want to get kicked out. I only used my flash a few times, and I was too far back to get anything decent. These are mostly just here as decoartion, and so I can say "I took a picture of Neil Young."


In other news, I still need a job really bad, I'm still doing nothing with my life, and my dad is still recovering from his surgery. Tomorrow, I hope I remember to take a picture of his wound/scar when he's getting the bandages changed; it's pretty intense. I love when wounds have that weird yellow dye all around the skin from marking the area during surgery or whatever it is that that crap is supposed to do. The cut is still pretty fresh and gross looking; it's pretty cool. My dad's not on morphine drip anymore, so he's kind of an ass again, but he likes me when I bring him cheeseburgers and Nintendo DS games, so that's cool. I finally took that picture from his window.
Lastly, if you're wondering where the title of this entry came from, you should probably listen to the BeeGees more often. Fuck, I love you Barry Gibb.

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Two of Us Wearing Raincoats Standing Solo In The Sun


So I just asked iTunes "What will my first child be like?" and it played "Two of Us" by The Beatles.
So basically, my iTunes has confirmed judgements that for the rest of my life I will likely be on wellfare.
So stoked for Film School, it will totally be worth it.
Score. Better get into a car accident now so I can be on dissability and then it's legit.
This picture I took of Tom Gabel eating his guitar pick is here because I hope that the kid I have will be his.

P.S - I totally touched his hand.

"He always feels the need to stroke himself, too."


Last night at the hospital, my dad was loving the morphine. He talked about Iggy Pop and how he doesn't think its right that he's always shirtless for like a half hour. I tried to make note of everything he said throughout the night, but I unfortunately forgot it all. But I assure you, it was gold. They took him off it today though, so he wasn't so eager to discuss rockstars. He's doing well though, and one of these nights I have to take a picture of the view from his hospital window, because it's pretty great.
Dr. Phil bothers me. A couple days ago I was watching it with my mom, and it was an episode on campus security and whatever have you. First they had the mother of this poor girl who got gang raped - okay, that was a legit problem, I mean.. she totally deserved to be on the show for an hour. They only gave her a half hour, though, and do you know why? Because we had to hear the story about a girl who had one guy friend of hers tell her he "owned her soul" and another guy friend who got drunk and accidently punched her. What the hell? I mean, nothing against this girl.. but does that really deserve to be on Dr. Phil? I'm sure there is many more poor girls in America who have dealt with college related crime that could have shared with us their story. I don't know. That's all I have to say I guess.
My eyes are no longer red. I didn't even use the eyedrops, because I forgot. Waste of thirty bucks, fuck.
I uploaded the pictures from the SKM/Famines show, and the ones from my shoot with Alyssa and her sister last night. The shots from the show are okay, but nothing special. The shots from the "shoot" weren't as good as I wanted them to be, we ended up going out too late, and I didn't get the natural light that I wanted, but I don't think it was too big of a deal. Alyssa likes them, so that's all that really matters.
I don't really have much else to say except that Matt and I watched new Louis CK stand-up last night. Regardless of the fact that I may have been a little inebriated, it was beautiful. Absoloutely beautiful. Seeing that man life would be amazing to me. There are a couple people I know who get to do this soon.
I hate them.

P.S - In response to my entry about the Willis family; I just realised now that I made a reference to the title as a Ted Leo song, which it is..but it's a Thin Lizzy cover. I wasn't thinking at the time, and I'm sure no one is really offended by this mistake, but you know, I have to keep up appearances with my blog homies or something, right?
WOOOOOOOO THIN LIZZY. *metal sign* RAWK ON.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Confessions of a Teenage Dropout Queen

So I realized about 10 minutes ago, that as of last year, I stopped being covered by my parents' medical plan. That was all fine and dandy, because I was a good little girl who was continuing her post secondary education. The University of Regina is great enough to provide us all with a medical plan, so I didn't have to worry about paying for my medications for the last year.

Well guess what, I'm not in University anymore.

Meaning, my eyedrops cost me 30 dollars today. Eyedrops.
I feel like an American.
I'm going to go make a claim on my income tax or some shit.
Please, continue to join me in this blog. I have a feeling that the documentation of my journey until Vancouver is going to get a lot more interesting as the days go by.
Adios.

Stick That In Your Smoke and Pipe It


So I realised today how much rockabilly music I actually listen to. Bands like "Southern Culture On The Skids" have made some sneaky efforts to make it onto my iPod. I'm not too sure how I feel about that, but I do know, however, that I have an eye infection. Not that you really care, but that would explain why I also rediscovered my glasses today. No contacts for Amanda for the next couple of days, which will make taking pictures for Alyssa's shoot today probably difficult. If it continues to be super red though, I might take pictures of it and all its glory grossness.
I still need to figure out for sure what I'm doing and being for Halloween. I don't really have plans yet, but I'm really stoked for it. I have a costume idea in mind, but I don't know if I'm 100% for it yet or not. I was going to be Sarah Palin for Halloween, but I'm personally pretty sick of politics right now. And I'm not just saying that because I like art and Stephen Harper just won last night.

Cat Power is so fucking good. End point.














I'm not really impressed with my effort in anything lately. I could be saving the world or working out or something, but last night I spent like 3 hours watching people's video blogs on youtube. Particularly ones in response to some video of like 8 girls who invited a girl over to their house just to beat her up. I never saw the video; I imagine it was posted a long time ago, and got taken off for obvious reasons. I agree, obviously, that that is an incredibly terrible thing to do and everything, but I don't know how necessary it is for people to make video blogs in response to it. I mean, I shouldn't talk, I'm doing the exact same thing right now as I write this blog, but it's just kind of silly.
Anyways, I've noticed about 2 different reactions:
  1. Blatant anger, (more hilariously from 38 year old guys from Detroit who records his videos with his mac and keeps the little scenes and shit on the video) mixed with threats to do the same to the girls. I find this response funny for many reasons, but two of them are as follows:
    i) They wouldn't kill/hurt those girls. They wouldn't take the effort to track these girls down and kill them. If they would, they already would have. And if they did, they would be in jail. They are not in jail, and a lot of them are hermits who never leave their house because they are too busy making video blogs so I don't really see any of them acting on this.
    ii) Videos like this made one girl (maybe more) post a video saying that she is appalled by the video, but even more appalled by the fact that people are posting videos threatening the girls. This is hilarious to me mostly because she is wrong. The rest of why it is hilarious, is because she's so passionate about it. Making threats on youtube is pretty much harmless, and if anything, it makes the person posting them look bad. I'm pretty sure you don't have much logic if you think that posting a threat on youtube to people who probably deserve it is just as bad as lying to a girl to make her think you are her friend and then BEATING HER TO DEATH. ACTUALLY PHYSICALLY HARMING HER BODY PERHAPS EVEN WITH STICKS AND STONES. Guess what, sticks and stones fucking hurt and words will never hurt you. Listen to your preschool teacher, and stop trying to by youtube Ghandi.

  2. Anger mixed with compassion, pain, and sometimes tears. These people make me laugh for obvious reasons. I agree with them, obviously, but there is no real purpose in posting a video to show you care. The people who did it aren't going to see it and be like "Oh my god, I really hurt THIS cuban girl's feelings on the internet by beating the hell out of another girl. I see the error in my ways, I should probably stop now." Everything else about why these videos are funny is pretty self explanitory if you know me at all.

Anyways, I basically just went on that huge tangent to show that I'm really doing nothing with my life, and I'm turning into one of those hermit bloggers myself. I wonder if there is an anti-biotic for that.

Neil Young and Death Cab is on Saturday, and I still havn't heard if I won the DCFC Video contest yet. I'm going to assume that I havn't. That's alright though, at least I still have tickets to the show. I'll just have to meet Ben the old fashioned Kate Wilson way and stalk him at the airport. (I hope you read that.)


Anyways, I have to go get eye drops and a loaf of bread. Such an overachiever.

Monday, October 13, 2008

Little Girl In Bloom


Oh, and I forgot that I found this picture of the Willis family a few days ago and it litterally made me L O L. Ashton is totally checking out Rumur, and Bruce knows. I imagine this would be such a fucked up family. I can't see Ashton's new camera commercial without being like "he fucks Demi Moore," and I imagine it's probably the same for Bruce. Poor guy. I still love you, John McClane. Now that LiLo's a lesbian, feel free to give me a call if you ever need to make dear ol' Demi jealous.
P.S - Thank you Mr. Leo for yet another blog entry title.

Monday, October 06, 2008

Stomach Pump Alert

So I think I just figured out what I will be doing for my birthday.
http://www.lazydork.com/
This beautiful site is an encyclopedia of movie drinking games. Almost any movie you can think of. I think it would be a neat idea. I never get really drunk anymore, but you're supposed to get really hammered on your birthday, right? Well why not do so with Christian Slater on your side? Or perhaps Marlon Brando. I don't know, get like 10 people in a room doing it, and it could be a blast.
I know I know I know, I'm sorry I'm barely posting... this weekend has just been really busy. Tomorrow should be a full fledged post though, with pictures. I'm pretty sure the only person my tardiness effects is DK. She's the only one that really cares about this blog, and it's adorable as hell.

Saturday, October 04, 2008

Hearts of Oak

This is going to be short because I'm on the run, but I just want to say that I havn't forgot about pictures and shit, I've just been a bit too busy to upload things and what not. I just want to let anyone who cares know that I have a few projects in mind that I'll be posting as soon as I do them, and that's about it. I should have time later today to post. Not that anyone really frequents this blog THAT much. I mean, I'm pretty cool, but I'm not that cool.

Friday, October 03, 2008

Cindy Rolly wants YOU to be her Au Pair

I got two more nanny related e-mails today. Both formatted the exact same way, both from textile workers. In one of them, "Cindy Rolly" promises to pay me FOURTY-FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS a month, plus spending money every week. Right. She also gets confused as to the gender of her children. Hella creepy. I'm thinking the theme of this blog from now on will just be documenting my journey while trying to get out of Regina, i.e - sharing with you hilarious creepy e-mails from foreign people.
It's a Friday night, and do you know what I'm doing? Judging highschool debate. Yeah, that's right. I love my life. In fact, I'm probably going to have to end this entry pretty soon, because I have to be at this school in an hour, and I currently look like ass. I didn't end up looking for jobs yesterday. I looked a little bit on the net, but not too much. Hopefully if/when I come home tonight I'll look more. I say that now, but it probably won't happen. I'm an irresponsible brat.
I think for the next few blog entries, I will play iTunes fortune teller with a new question everyday, so that we can get more insight on my future from the Macintosh gods.
Today's question:
(because I can't think of anything lamer) What does my future have instore for me today?
Loves Not A Competition, But I'm Winning by the Kaiser Chiefs
Well, considering tonight I am going to a debate, I'm pretty sure that means that some charming young man is going to win the debate I'm judging and sweep me off my feet with relevant arguements. Perhaps, afterwards, we may even discuss Sarah Palin, and maybe even Matt Damon (depending on how "alt" he is.) It will be beautiful. I'm pretty stoked.

Thursday, October 02, 2008

They came on so loaded man, well hung and snow white tan.

I just played iTunes fortune teller and asked it "What the hell am I doing with my life?" and it played Ziggy Stardust. I'm not quite sure if that is a good thing or not. Maybe all it's telling me is that I have "god given ass." I guess it would be a good thing, then?
I got my Bob Dylan tickets in the mail today. Apparently altogether it came to like 167.00? Whatever, I guess that's worth it. I am really worried about this whole Neil Young ticket deal thing. Apparently my tickets won't come in until the day of the show, and that scares me. I'll just try not to think about it.
I have the worst head ache right now. It's so bad that I feel like finishing this entry right away so I can go lay down. After that, I HAVE to apply for jobs today. Jesus christ, I worked ONE AND A HALF HOURS today. I love the job, but I need money, fuck. I can't pay for rent in Vancouver with my charming wit and dashing good looks (especially since I have neither.) A family put me on their hotlist today on greataupair.com. They are from Cloverdale, BC, which could be kind of cool I guess? There's some filming down there. Smallville is filmed in Cloverdale which I guess could be cool, except that show sucks now way more than it used to. I could e-mail them, and I still might, but they only want to pay about 200 a week. Considering that's not even where I want to go, I probably won't take it. Oh, I also got another creepy bad grammar e-mail from someone who wants me to be their nanny today. This one wasn't from the UK though, it was from good ol' America. APPARENTLY, this "dad" lives in Hollywood, which is pretty convenient when it says right on my profile that I have a strong interest in film.

"My name is Mr Richard Powell seeking for aupair that will take care of my kid during the day,Mon-Fri.we are originally from American and we stay in United State of American with my two kids.my wife name is Sarah 31yrs old i am 42yrs old, the name of my kids are Terry 5yrs olds and janet 9yrs old they are both boys and girl.I work in a textile company in United state and my wife work in the bank. we don't usually stay Home unless during weekends that's why we need you to come to my family and take care of my kids."

I get several e-mails formatted exactly like this daily. Aside from the one who claimed to be the wife of a man that worked for Nelson Mandela, almost all of these "people" say they are textile workers. And they always get mixed up on the gender and ages of their kids, it's fucking creepy. I'm really worried about the poor girls who actually fall for this shit. I wonder if Donald Sutherland and Mira Sorvino will be in the movie about THEIR story too.
I was going to write about more stuff, but my head is really killing me, so I'm going to go. I'll probably write again later tonight.

Wednesday, October 01, 2008

Betty Ann Fights Boring

So I went to Value Village today [/hip] and I found a dress that seemed to look pretty decent on me.
It was a maternity dress. Should I be worried? I didn't buy it.
My cashier was named Betty Ann. I love that they make everyone wear name tags with that shitty slogan on it. It's cute. I did find a skirt that I was quite happy with. Later tonight the button on that skirt popped off. Woe is me. Whatever, it made for a good background to put this crab apple on. This was the only one in my backyard that wasn't rotten.
Josh and I filmed my part of his documentary today. I'm so worried that I'm going to sound like a complete idiot in it. It was about women and their role in society. It took everything in me not to bring up Sarah Palin and sound like a tool. I made some comment about feminism and I didn't even bring up Kathleen Hanna, I was pretty proud of myself. I think my cynicism is getting better. We took 7 minutes of footage of me driving my car; I ended up singing three times in it. A van also cut me off. That was rude.

Sometimes I wonder why Missy Elliot is famous. I also wonder why the hell I havn't applied for any fulltime jobs yet. I need to get my ass in gear (starting this blog probably wasn't a good idea to get me motivated.)

Warren won the comedy contest tonight. I actually listened to the new kid with the virginity story tonight, and I liked it. I think a lot of that had to do with the fact that the crowd was really not expecting to hear someone talk about vaginas for so long, and I could see many middle aged women in the audience look like they felt violated. It was awesome. I havn't decided if I actually find him funny yet or not. He had some good one-liners, though. Graeme's set was also good. Shaun Majumder was also extremely drunk, and I still think he sounded like Matthew McConaughey half way through. I wish he would have stayed on Uh-Oh.

After the show, Warren and Graeme snuck me backstage to steal various cold beverages from the green room. I'm drinking my stolen orange juice right now. God, Regina comedy is such a huge deal. The night ended off at Bushwakker's where I felt obligated to ask Warren for an autograph. Graeme and Taylor ended up signing it too.

I like to think this was really Pat Fiaco thanking me for sitting with him. A girl can only dream.


Karma karma karma karma karma comedians

So I really have nothing to talk about today except my night at the Owl. The reason I went tonight was for the Funniest Person On Campus comedy show. Warren hosted, and Graeme did a set at the end (that killed) while the judges deliberated on who they thought should win. Phil competed but he won last year, so apparently his set wasn't really considered? Who knows. The person who ended up winning was someone who was doing stand-up for the first time. His set was just a description of when he lost his virginity. I tuned out after a while, but apparently he was pretty good. Warren and Graeme are competing in the Funniest Person In Saskatchewan contest tomorrow at the Applause Theatre in the Regina Inn and if you are actually reading this in time, I would suggest you go. Tickets are only 5 bucks.

The rest of the night was filled with karaoke. Graeme had to be lame and bail after the show, but the rest of us enjoyed ourselves with our shitty performances. Pictured right is mine and Phil's rendition of Kiss From A Rose by Seal. (Side note: I am officially referring to our stage act as Smith²) Joel and Kyla decided to join us on stage with their love-in. Reliable sources tell me their performance was a re-enactment of what they feel Seal was really trying to immortalize when he wrote this beautiful ballad. I still can't hear the song without thinking of Batman Forever, so I guess I just don't connect with it as much as those two hippies. Also note the spilt beer at my feet that I believe was provided by our nasal-voiced chauchy friend who is always prepared for the sun with his tear-off sleeved sweater, presumably purchased at Old Navy.

After many dreadful hours of scanning through the song list booklet, Kyla and I finally decided our song of choice for the evening was I'm Going To Keep On Loving You by REO Speedwagon. It was a beautiful and emotional performance, and what I would like to think a triumph for the evening. All in all I feel my vocals touched the souls of many this evening, and a good time was had by all.

I would post more pictures tonight but there's really not much from the day of importance. I'm way too tired to go through the rest of the pictures from the show, so if there's anything good, I'll post it tomorrow. It's about 3 AM right now though, and I would like to get a decent night's sleep, so I should probably end this entry here. I hope for anyone that is reading this (and I imagine the numbers will dwindle by the end of the week) that my life get's a bit more exciting so you have something to read. I might also try to get some opinions. I would hate to know you're choosing the new Chuck Klosterman book over my pretty fucking cool blog.

Peace.

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

An Explanation for This Drivel

Yes, I have a fucking blog.

Before I go on, may I note that I promise/hope that the majority of the posts after this will not be as boring.
So anyone who is reading this is likely doing so because I posted the link on my facebook. This means that anyone who is reading this likely knows me. In that case, if you are one of my closer friends, you're probably making fun of me right now for starting a blog. You may even be staring at this thinking "I will never read this again," but in the absurd case that you actually care, you may be wondering why on earth I'm starting one.

Well, I guess I'm about to tell you.

If you didn't know already, I recently dropped out of school in an attempt to save money so I could move to Vancouver. Other than waiting on the elite of Regina at my part-time job, I really am doing nothing with my life. I used to be creative; I used to write all the time and take photos even more. There was even a point in my life where I was constantly painting. I have noticed that lately, I havn't been doing any of this. You would think that with all the spare time I have (don't worry, I'm looking for a full-time job), that I would be at least taking advantage of this time to do the things I love. Well, I'm not, but I'm going to try to change that.

I feel like the only way I'm going to get myself back into writing is if I have a medium in which I have to do this. I am the type of person that often strays from doing anything if I'm not given a reason to do so (basically, I'm admitting that I'm lazy.) Therefore, I want to create this blog with guidelines for myself so I have a reason to stay creative and show what I do. I am posting links to this blog on my facebook in hopes that all the people who are constantly on facebook instead of looking after their responsibilities will somehow wander here. I don't really care if people read this, but it would be nice. And if you do read this, it would be nice to know if you did. If you know me well, you know I'm pretty much the biggest internet creep out there, so I will not judge you if you told me that you read my blog. I would be flattered.

I also have been caught in a point in my life where the people closest to me are ending up in different places. I also aspire to leave hicksville soon and get ready to do my own thing. I hope that if I keep this blog I can keep myself at least mildly close to the people who care about me, that is, if they have the patience to read my rants in print.

The "Guidelines":

Post at least five pictures every post, hopefully posting everyday. I want to condition myself to get back into things that used to make me happy. I moreso need a place to post my pictures (even if they're just snapshots,) because facebook is a ridiculous place to post photographs that aren't of drunk people.


Now, after that tedious and boring explanation, I will post my five pictures.

These were taken yesterday when Elissa and I went to "run errands." By running errands, I really mean leaving Elissa's film at home, not getting it developed, and then going shopping and for ice cream instead. Running errands also means finding shadeless glasses and a headband in Elissa's car and dressing up like American Apparrell tells us to and taking pictures while we drive.

And incase you knew nothing of my desire to move to Vancouver, I'm doing it for Film school. I dropped out of school here because I'm broke and my tuition in Van-City is like 16 grand for a one year course. I informed an old friend of mine of this decision a couple hours ago (at about 2 AM), and he insisted that I buy a lottery ticket. I told him I only would if he picked it out. So a half hour later we found ourselves at the South Albert 7-11 playing scratch and win Monopoly.

I lost.