Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Stick That In Your Smoke and Pipe It


So I realised today how much rockabilly music I actually listen to. Bands like "Southern Culture On The Skids" have made some sneaky efforts to make it onto my iPod. I'm not too sure how I feel about that, but I do know, however, that I have an eye infection. Not that you really care, but that would explain why I also rediscovered my glasses today. No contacts for Amanda for the next couple of days, which will make taking pictures for Alyssa's shoot today probably difficult. If it continues to be super red though, I might take pictures of it and all its glory grossness.
I still need to figure out for sure what I'm doing and being for Halloween. I don't really have plans yet, but I'm really stoked for it. I have a costume idea in mind, but I don't know if I'm 100% for it yet or not. I was going to be Sarah Palin for Halloween, but I'm personally pretty sick of politics right now. And I'm not just saying that because I like art and Stephen Harper just won last night.

Cat Power is so fucking good. End point.














I'm not really impressed with my effort in anything lately. I could be saving the world or working out or something, but last night I spent like 3 hours watching people's video blogs on youtube. Particularly ones in response to some video of like 8 girls who invited a girl over to their house just to beat her up. I never saw the video; I imagine it was posted a long time ago, and got taken off for obvious reasons. I agree, obviously, that that is an incredibly terrible thing to do and everything, but I don't know how necessary it is for people to make video blogs in response to it. I mean, I shouldn't talk, I'm doing the exact same thing right now as I write this blog, but it's just kind of silly.
Anyways, I've noticed about 2 different reactions:
  1. Blatant anger, (more hilariously from 38 year old guys from Detroit who records his videos with his mac and keeps the little scenes and shit on the video) mixed with threats to do the same to the girls. I find this response funny for many reasons, but two of them are as follows:
    i) They wouldn't kill/hurt those girls. They wouldn't take the effort to track these girls down and kill them. If they would, they already would have. And if they did, they would be in jail. They are not in jail, and a lot of them are hermits who never leave their house because they are too busy making video blogs so I don't really see any of them acting on this.
    ii) Videos like this made one girl (maybe more) post a video saying that she is appalled by the video, but even more appalled by the fact that people are posting videos threatening the girls. This is hilarious to me mostly because she is wrong. The rest of why it is hilarious, is because she's so passionate about it. Making threats on youtube is pretty much harmless, and if anything, it makes the person posting them look bad. I'm pretty sure you don't have much logic if you think that posting a threat on youtube to people who probably deserve it is just as bad as lying to a girl to make her think you are her friend and then BEATING HER TO DEATH. ACTUALLY PHYSICALLY HARMING HER BODY PERHAPS EVEN WITH STICKS AND STONES. Guess what, sticks and stones fucking hurt and words will never hurt you. Listen to your preschool teacher, and stop trying to by youtube Ghandi.

  2. Anger mixed with compassion, pain, and sometimes tears. These people make me laugh for obvious reasons. I agree with them, obviously, but there is no real purpose in posting a video to show you care. The people who did it aren't going to see it and be like "Oh my god, I really hurt THIS cuban girl's feelings on the internet by beating the hell out of another girl. I see the error in my ways, I should probably stop now." Everything else about why these videos are funny is pretty self explanitory if you know me at all.

Anyways, I basically just went on that huge tangent to show that I'm really doing nothing with my life, and I'm turning into one of those hermit bloggers myself. I wonder if there is an anti-biotic for that.

Neil Young and Death Cab is on Saturday, and I still havn't heard if I won the DCFC Video contest yet. I'm going to assume that I havn't. That's alright though, at least I still have tickets to the show. I'll just have to meet Ben the old fashioned Kate Wilson way and stalk him at the airport. (I hope you read that.)


Anyways, I have to go get eye drops and a loaf of bread. Such an overachiever.

No comments: